Awesome Davao: City Tour

When I scored a promo ticket from Cebu Pacific on my next trip to the Land of  Promise, I was so giddy and excited.  It would be my very first trip to Mindanao area and with that thought it gave me an adrenalin rush.   I was so lucky that the weather during my trip was so fine and sunny.  Came the awaited trip last November 17, 2012, my wandering feet reached Davao.  When the plane landed at Davao International Airport, I was surprised to see that the airport is so quiet and not busy at all.  It was like a ghost town. LOL Seriously, the only plane that I saw in the airport were the ones I had a flight with.   The surrounding areas in the airport are so clean and breezy.  It felt like I was just like in the place of my hometown.  Crisp and clean air plus cozy atmosphere.

I and my friends were fetched by a private car courtesy of the sweetest man that I know- the boyfriend.  I appreciated his effort in hiring a private car for us to use in roaming around Davao even though he was not in the place.   Before proceeding for a city tour,  we hunted for an accommodation, as we did not make any reservation in any hotels or pension houses in Davao.   After several minutes of riding, we settled staying at Green Windows Dormitel located along Mt. Apo, Street, Davao City.   The dormitel’s location is very convenient to any business or commercial establishments.  The three standard room that we booked is very spacious and it houses a clean bath with hot and cold shower and toilet.  In addition, beds have clean sheets.  Rates are not that pricy it is just right within your budget.  I highly recommend this place as it is a very value to your money.

**Rates if paid via credit card is Php1,700.00/ night
**Paid through cash, rate is Php1,500/night

Three standard room

After we found an accommodation, we started the tour by going first to San Pedro Church to light some candles and offer a prayer.  Next, walked across the church and get a glimpse of Davao City Hall, Osmeña Park and Rizal Park.

   

After that, we went directly to Philippine Eagle Center (PEC) situated in Calinan Street.  There is nothing extraordinary in the place but the thought of seeing the Philippine Eagle and other birds in different species is just awesome.  Other animals that you can find in PEC are some monkeys, sort-of-huge kois and two pythons, which were so scary because of their humongous size. hahaha When you want to have a photo opportunity taken with those snakes, you will pay Php10.00 per shot.

We were supposed to drop by at Malagos Garden and Resort but the driver forgot about it. tsk  Anyway, it was past lunch time when we decided to eat at the famous Lachi’s.  For me, Lachi’s is an overrated restaurant because their specialty which is the  “unforgettable pork spare ribs”  is unforgettable in a bad way.  There is no distinct taste that makes you wanna crave that dish every time you remember Lachi’s.   The taste of their specialty dish is just like an ordinary braised pork that I usually prepare  at home.  However, my braised pork is much tastier compared to the unforgettable pork spare ribs at Lachi’s.  Not to brag,  I cook well. 😀  Moving on, to ease up the disappointment, I ordered their 5-chocolate torte and dulce de leche cheesecake.  Surprisingly, those sweets are so good that the after taste will surely melt in your mouth.

TO BE CONTINUED on my next post…

****Photos are my property.

4 thoughts on “Awesome Davao: City Tour

  1. ako na sasagot kung ba’t walang mga Traffic Enforcer nung mag roam kayo sa City… its becoz Davao City is a “Smart City”, (Read link. scroll down a bit to the 113th post: http://www.skyscrapercity.com/showthread.php?t=1651729&page=6 )… Sensored ang Traffic Lights nila and Tagal na sila meron Public Safety Command Center na thru CCTV malalaman nila sino mga abusado and becoz of the help of IBM, mas lalo nag upgrade system nila. 🙂 its the only City in the Philippines that adopts this kind of system, and now, just recently, Makati follows this kind of system. There’s so much more about Davao. Kung tutuusin mas high tech pa LGU nila compare sa Manila.. lolz!.. They had Central 911, na parang sa US. (Visit link to see: http://davaocitybybattad.blogspot.com/2011/07/davao-city-central-911.html ) .FYI: All services to 911 are free of charge… Truly Life is there. 🙂

Express your Thoughts

