Awesome Davao: City Tour II

A continuation to  my last entry about Awesome Davao: City Tour

As we toured around the city streets of Davao, what I had observed is that there are no traffic enforcers visible in the street yet the commuters and drivers are so disciplined.  Guess, they are afraid of getting caught of traffic violations and be punished by the city mayor or the vice mayor. 😀 After eating at Lachi’s we head on to Ponce Suites, this is where eerie and creepy yet artistic masterpieces of Kublai Ponce Millan are housed. Each level of the room features his works exuding with different expressions.  If you are not appreciative of these kind of arts, then you will find it creepy just like me. LOL  Kidding aside, the suites offers a nice place to stay.

One of the statues found outside the suite

With limited time, we did not stay long at Ponce Suites.  Off to our next destination is the once-famous-and-beautiful Times Beach.  The beach is the homeland of  the giant statue of David and other interesting figures.  However, we were disappointed when we visited the place because it has not been taken care of.  No more water in the pool where you can find sharks and gone were the mermaid statues.  Information about the statue of David which was carved in the stones were ruined.  Good thing, the place is breezy and we had a glimpse of a pretty sunset.  This place is not worthy to visit as it was before.

Before I forgot before going to Times Beach we went to Gaisano Mall, I cannot remember if what branch is that but I remember it has a lovely place called The Peak.

On our last stop for City Tour, we visited the popular People’s Park.  What I like about the park is its cleanliness and spacious area.  A perfect place to stroll around,  picnic with friends or waste some quality time with family members or special someone.  Nuff said here are the photos.

It was a tiresome yet fulfilling and enjoyable city tour.  I wish we still had more time to go around the other attractions in Davao.  Anyway, there is always a next time.  During the tour, I realized that Davao is just like my hometown but quieter, cleaner and is still in the apex of  improvement.   With few more years, I can see Davao’s tourism and economy flourishing.  Perfect to establish a business as what the boyfriend is planning. hahaha  Although night life is limited until 2:00 in the morning and no liquors after 12:00 midnight plus well-known bars are closed on Sundays, I think I can still consider living in Davao because after all life is here.

Next entry of Awesome Davao series: Isla Reta, Talicud Island

***Photos are my property. 

4 thoughts on “Awesome Davao: City Tour II

  1. Just to share mine, my last trip was in Davao. And the best experience so far was to see different tribes, colors and sounds of Davao (Kadayawan yay!). I.No.Like.History. It’s the most boring subject for me (aside from philosophy). But getting the real experience, I got to appreciate the culture of Mindanao. The other attractions like zoo and beaches we’re just normal compared to other places I’ve been. The food was great though but the local food tour guide actually suggested a foreign cuisine! How’s that for for a local tour?

Express your Thoughts

